GPU cloud · head to head
Modal vs TensorDock
What each costs, whether there's a free plan, and what each is best for, from prices checked on their own sites.
| Fact | ||
|---|---|---|
| From | $1.10/hr | $0.35/hr |
| Free plan | Yes · $30/month of free credits on the Starter plan | No · No ($5 minimum deposit) |
| Best for | Serverless GPUs for Python: pay per second while your code runs. | A GPU cloud marketplace with low hourly prices on consumer and data-centre GPUs. |
| Checked | Oct 17, 2026 | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Website | Visit | Visit |
The difference in short
- TensorDock costs less to start: $0.35/hr against $1.10/hr for Modal.
- Only Modal has a free plan, trial or credit.
Modal pricing
All about Modal| Plan | Price | Specs / includes | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| B200 | $6.25/hr | — | Published only per second: $0.001736/sec. Hourly = x3600, exact arithmetic. GPU price only; CPU and memory billed separately. VRAM not stated on the pricing page. |
| H200 SXM | $4.54/hr | — | Published $0.001261/sec; hourly = x3600 exactly. GPU only. VRAM not stated on the pricing page. |
| H100 SXM5 | $3.95/hr | — | Published $0.001097/sec; hourly = x3600 exactly. GPU only. H100 is 80GB, but the pricing page does not state VRAM. |
| A100 80GB | $2.50/hr | — | Published $0.000694/sec; hourly = x3600 exactly. A100 40GB is $0.000583/sec = $2.0988/hr. |
| L40S | $1.95/hr | — | Published $0.000542/sec; hourly = x3600 exactly. L40S is 48GB, but the pricing page does not state VRAM. |
| A10 | $1.10/hr | — | Published $0.000306/sec; hourly = x3600 exactly. Also listed: L4 $0.000222/sec ($0.7992/hr), T4 $0.000164/sec ($0.5904/hr), RTX PRO 6000 $0.000842/sec ($3.0312/hr), B300 $0.001972/sec ($7.0992/hr). |
TensorDock pricing
All about TensorDock| Plan | Price | Specs / includes | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| H100 80GB SXM5 | $2.25/hr | H100 SXM5 | Marketplace, varies. Homepage card 'H100 SXM5 FROM $2.25/HR'; homepage banner (undated, 'March News') also says on-demand H100 SXM at $2.25/hr. vCPU/RAM are chosen by the customer. |
| A100 80GB SXM4 | $1.80/hr | A100 SXM4 | Marketplace, varies. Homepage card 'A100 SXM4 FROM $1.80/HR'; the 80GB size comes from tensordock.com/cloud-gpus.html (table marked 'Last Updated: July 24, 2024'), which also lists A100 PCIe 80GB at $1.50/hr. |
| RTX 4090 24GB | $0.35/hr | — | Marketplace, varies. Homepage card 'RTX 4090 FROM $0.35/HR'. Consumer GPUs advertised from $0.12/hr (model not named). |
Other GPU cloud options
Cheapest first where the prices compare.
FAQ
Which is cheaper, Modal or TensorDock?
TensorDock costs less to start: $0.35/hr against $1.10/hr for Modal. Prices checked Oct 17, 2026 on each company's own site.
Do Modal and TensorDock have a free plan?
Modal: Yes. $30/month of free credits on the Starter plan. TensorDock: No. $5 minimum deposit.
What else should I compare with Modal and TensorDock?
Other GPU cloud options we've checked: RunPod ($0.34/hr), Vast.ai ($0.49/hr), DigitalOcean GPU Droplets ($0.76/hr), Hyperstack ($1.35/hr).
Keep comparing
- Modal: pricing, free plan and alternatives
- TensorDock: pricing, free plan and alternatives
- All GPU cloud compared
- DigitalOcean GPU Droplets vs Modal
- DigitalOcean GPU Droplets vs TensorDock
- Hyperstack vs Modal
- Hyperstack vs TensorDock
- Lambda vs Modal
- Lambda vs TensorDock
- Modal vs RunPod
- Modal vs Vast.ai
- Modal vs Vultr Cloud GPU
- RunPod vs TensorDock
Built from the prices and facts we checked on each company's own site. We haven't tested either hands-on.How we work