GPU cloud · head to head
Modal vs RunPod
What each costs, whether there's a free plan, and what each is best for, from prices checked on their own sites.
| Fact | ||
|---|---|---|
| From | $1.10/hr | $0.34/hr |
| Free plan | Yes · $30/month of free credits on the Starter plan | No · No free credits; small referral bonus after a $10 top-up |
| Best for | Serverless GPUs for Python: pay per second while your code runs. | GPU cloud with on-demand pods, a cheaper Community Cloud and serverless GPU endpoints. |
| Checked | Oct 17, 2026 | Oct 17, 2026 |
| Website | Visit | Visit |
The difference in short
- RunPod costs less to start: $0.34/hr against $1.10/hr for Modal.
- Only Modal has a free plan, trial or credit.
Modal pricing
All about Modal| Plan | Price | Specs / includes | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| B200 | $6.25/hr | — | Published only per second: $0.001736/sec. Hourly = x3600, exact arithmetic. GPU price only; CPU and memory billed separately. VRAM not stated on the pricing page. |
| H200 SXM | $4.54/hr | — | Published $0.001261/sec; hourly = x3600 exactly. GPU only. VRAM not stated on the pricing page. |
| H100 SXM5 | $3.95/hr | — | Published $0.001097/sec; hourly = x3600 exactly. GPU only. H100 is 80GB, but the pricing page does not state VRAM. |
| A100 80GB | $2.50/hr | — | Published $0.000694/sec; hourly = x3600 exactly. A100 40GB is $0.000583/sec = $2.0988/hr. |
| L40S | $1.95/hr | — | Published $0.000542/sec; hourly = x3600 exactly. L40S is 48GB, but the pricing page does not state VRAM. |
| A10 | $1.10/hr | — | Published $0.000306/sec; hourly = x3600 exactly. Also listed: L4 $0.000222/sec ($0.7992/hr), T4 $0.000164/sec ($0.5904/hr), RTX PRO 6000 $0.000842/sec ($3.0312/hr), B300 $0.001972/sec ($7.0992/hr). |
RunPod pricing
All about RunPod| Plan | Price | Specs / includes | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| RTX 4090 24GB (Secure Cloud) | $0.89/hr | 6 vCPU · 41 GB RAM | Secure Cloud, per GPU. Community Cloud price for the same GPU is $0.34/hr. Page default view is Secure Cloud; toggle switches to Community Cloud. |
| L40S 48GB (Secure Cloud) | $1.09/hr | 16 vCPU · 94 GB RAM | Secure Cloud, per GPU. Community Cloud $0.79/hr. |
| A100 80GB PCIe (Secure Cloud) | $1.79/hr | A100 PCIe · 8 vCPU · 117 GB RAM | Secure Cloud, per GPU. Community Cloud $1.19/hr. A100 SXM 80GB (16 vCPU, 125 GB RAM) is also $1.79/hr Secure, $1.39/hr Community. |
| H100 80GB SXM (Secure Cloud) | $3.99/hr | H100 SXM · 20 vCPU · 125 GB RAM | Secure Cloud, per GPU. Community Cloud $2.69/hr. H100 PCIe 80GB (16 vCPU, 188 GB RAM) is $2.89/hr Secure, $1.99/hr Community. H100 NVL 94GB $3.19/hr Secure, $2.59/hr Community. |
| H200 141GB (Secure Cloud) | $5.29/hr | 24 vCPU · 276 GB RAM | Secure Cloud, per GPU. Community Cloud $3.59/hr. |
| B200 180GB (Secure Cloud) | $7.99/hr | 28 vCPU · 283 GB RAM | Secure Cloud, per GPU. Community Cloud $5.98/hr. |
| RTX 4090 24GB (Community Cloud) | $0.34/hr | — | Community Cloud: GPUs in vetted third-party data centres, cheaper than Secure Cloud. |
| RTX 5090 32GB (Secure Cloud) | $1.19/hr | 9 vCPU · 35 GB RAM | Secure Cloud, per GPU. Community Cloud $0.69/hr. |
Other GPU cloud options
Cheapest first where the prices compare.
FAQ
Which is cheaper, Modal or RunPod?
RunPod costs less to start: $0.34/hr against $1.10/hr for Modal. Prices checked Oct 17, 2026 on each company's own site.
Do Modal and RunPod have a free plan?
Modal: Yes. $30/month of free credits on the Starter plan. RunPod: No free credits; small referral bonus after a $10 top-up.
What else should I compare with Modal and RunPod?
Other GPU cloud options we've checked: TensorDock ($0.35/hr), Vast.ai ($0.49/hr), DigitalOcean GPU Droplets ($0.76/hr), Hyperstack ($1.35/hr).
Keep comparing
- Modal: pricing, free plan and alternatives
- RunPod: pricing, free plan and alternatives
- All GPU cloud compared
- DigitalOcean GPU Droplets vs Modal
- DigitalOcean GPU Droplets vs RunPod
- Hyperstack vs Modal
- Hyperstack vs RunPod
- Lambda vs Modal
- Lambda vs RunPod
- Modal vs TensorDock
- Modal vs Vast.ai
- Modal vs Vultr Cloud GPU
- RunPod vs TensorDock
Built from the prices and facts we checked on each company's own site. We haven't tested either hands-on.How we work