Cheapest website builders that let you use your own domain

Carrd is cheapest at $19 a year plus a domain. For a multi-page site, WordPress.com Personal costs $48 in year one with a free domain, then $60.

The cheapest website builder that lets you use your own domain is Carrd: its Pro Standard plan costs $19 a year, or $29.46 a year once you add a .com from Cloudflare Registrar at $10.46. For a site with more than one page, WordPress.com Personal is the cheapest, at $48 for the first year on yearly billing with a free domain, then $60 a year. Those are October 2026 prices; the cheapest own-domain plans at the other builders here cost $96 to $264 a year.

How we worked it out: for each builder we took the lowest plan that connects a domain you own, then added what the domain costs. Prices for the builders AskGPU already tracks come from our own data, checked October 17 and 18, 2026, and we read each builder’s pricing page again on October 27, 2026 for its custom-domain, free-domain and branding rules. We haven’t built sites on these services ourselves. All prices are in US dollars, before tax. Wix and Squarespace show prices by location, so their figures here are the US prices from our data.

Cheapest plan with your own domain at each builder

Free plans don’t get you there. Wix, WordPress.com, Webflow, Framer, Carrd, Strikingly and Weebly don’t allow your own domain on their free plans, per AskGPU’s free-plan data, so free sites stay on an address such as yoursite.wordpress.com. Durable marks a custom domain on its free plan as “Private preview”, and Squarespace has a 14-day trial instead of a free plan. So the real entry price is the first paid plan that connects a domain:

Builder Cheapest plan with your own domain Price on yearly billing Plan cost per year Domain included Year one with a .com
Carrd Pro Standard $19/year $19 No, bring your own $29.46
WordPress.com Personal $4/mo $48 Free first year $48
Strikingly Limited $8/mo $96 Free first year $96
Framer Basic $10/mo $120 Complimentary on yearly billing $120
Weebly Personal $13/mo $156 No $166.46
Webflow Basic $15/mo $180 None listed $190.46
Wix Light $17/mo $204 First-year voucher $204
Squarespace Basic $19/mo $228 Free first year $228
Durable Launch $22/mo $264 Register one free, up to $20 value $264
Hostinger Website Builder Premium See current price 48-month term Free first year See current price

“Year one with a .com” adds Cloudflare Registrar’s $10.46 a year where the plan doesn’t include a domain. Cloudflare sells domains at cost, per AskGPU’s domains data, checked October 18, 2026. For Weebly, that’s $156 + $10.46 = $166.46.

Notes on the table:

  • Carrd builds one-page sites. Pro Standard covers 10 sites with your own domain, forms and full SSL. Carrd says Pro lets you “publish sites to any custom domains you own”, and its Pro page doesn’t offer a domain with any plan, so you register one with a registrar. The cheaper Pro Lite plan ($9 a year) lists no custom domain.
  • Strikingly Limited is small: 2 sites, up to 5 pages each, 1 GB of storage per site and 50 GB of bandwidth. Pro, at $16 a month billed yearly, covers 3 sites with up to 100 pages each.
  • Webflow Basic is, in Webflow’s words, “for simple sites that don’t need a CMS”: 300 static pages and 10 GB of bandwidth. A blog needs Premium, $25 a month billed yearly.
  • Framer Basic includes 30 pages, 2 CMS collections and 50 GB of bandwidth.
  • Hostinger’s builder price is left out because its pricing page showed a different intro price on October 27 than our data, and the change is already with our monthly price check. Hostinger says all plans are paid upfront, and Premium renews at $10.99 a month.

Not ranked: GoDaddy’s builder page couldn’t be read automatically, and Jimdo and SITE123 didn’t show us plan prices we could confirm in US dollars. Google Sites can use a domain you own, but it must be a subdomain such as www, per Google’s help page, and the Google pages we read don’t state a price for Sites.

How much more does monthly billing cost?

Most builders charge more if you pay month to month, and two of them drop the free domain as well.

Builder, plan Yearly billing Monthly billing Extra per year on monthly
WordPress.com Personal $4/mo $9/mo $60 (12 × $5), and no free domain
Weebly Personal $13/mo $16/mo $36 (12 × $3)
Strikingly Pro $16/mo $20/mo $48 (12 × $4)
Squarespace Basic $19/mo $25/mo $72 (12 × $6), and no free domain
Durable Launch $22/mo $25/mo $36 (12 × $3)
Webflow Basic $15/mo $25/mo $120 (12 × $10)

WordPress.com says “Monthly plans do not include a free domain”, and Squarespace gives its free year of domain registration only to plans “purchased for an annual term”.

Carrd’s plans renew yearly; its page doesn’t list monthly billing. Wix says its displayed prices “are for yearly subscriptions, paid in full at the time of purchase”; other periods are available, but the plans page doesn’t show their prices. Framer’s page shows yearly-billing prices and says you’re billed by “the billing cycle selected at checkout”. Hostinger’s advertised price needs a 48-month prepay. Strikingly’s monthly price for Limited isn’t in our data.

Worked example: WordPress.com Personal on monthly billing costs 12 × $9 = $108 in year one, plus $10.46 for a domain you buy yourself, so $118.46. On yearly billing it’s $48 with the domain included: $70.46 less.

Is the domain really free, and what does it cost after year one?

A “free domain” on a builder plan is a first-year deal, and the terms differ:

Builder Free domain terms Domain price after year one
WordPress.com First year, annual and multi-year plans only Not stated
Strikingly “Free domain for a year!” on Limited and Pro, on yearly billing Strikingly lists domains at $24.95 a year
Framer “Complimentary domain included on yearly”; length not stated Not stated
Wix 1-year voucher with most yearly or multi-year Premium plans, first Premium purchase only, redeem within 60 days, new domains from Wix only Not stated
Squarespace 1 year with annual plans; domains in its cheapest price tier only, one per site Renews “at our standard rate, plus applicable taxes”; a .com is $20 a year at Squarespace Domains
Durable Launch: “Connect your domain, or register one free - up to $20 value” Not stated
Hostinger “Custom domain - free for 1 year” Not stated on the builder page
Carrd, Webflow, Weebly Personal None; you buy the domain elsewhere Your registrar’s price

Wix adds that its voucher “cannot be used to renew an existing domain”, so it only helps if you register a new name through Wix.

Where a builder doesn’t publish its renewal price, check it against a registrar before the year is up. A .com renews at $10.46 a year at Cloudflare Registrar, $20 at Squarespace Domains and $22.99 at GoDaddy (plus the ICANN fee), per AskGPU’s domains data, checked October 18, 2026. Cloudflare requires domains to use its nameservers. Buying the domain from a registrar from the start keeps it separate from the builder, which matters if you switch builders later.

Which cheap plans still show the builder’s branding?

The cheapest own-domain plan doesn’t always remove the builder’s badge or ads:

Builder, cheapest own-domain plan Branding removed?
Carrd Pro Standard Yes. Every Pro plan removes the “Made with Carrd” branding
WordPress.com Personal Yes. Personal turns off the ads that free sites show
Strikingly Limited No. “Remove Strikingly branding” is listed from Pro
Weebly Personal No. Square ads are removed from the Professional plan up
Webflow Basic Yes. Webflow’s comparison table lists “Remove Webflow badge” on paid site plans, not on the free Starter plan
Wix Light Yes. Wix says Premium plans let you “remove Wix branding from your site”
Framer Basic, Squarespace Basic, Durable Launch Their pricing pages don’t say

Removing the branding at Strikingly means moving from Limited to Pro: 12 × $16 = $192 a year against 12 × $8 = $96, so $96 more a year. Carrd’s $9 Pro Lite plan works the other way round: it removes the branding but lists no custom domain.

What does each plan cost from year two?

Two of these builders publish a renewal price above their first-term price. WordPress.com Personal renews at $5 a month after the first year (12 × $5 = $60), per our data checked October 17, 2026. Hostinger’s builder renews at $10.99 a month (12 × $10.99 = $131.88 a year) once its 48-month term ends. The others show one price and don’t advertise an intro discount, though any of them can change prices before you renew.

Plan, yearly billing Year one Year two, plan only Year two, with the domain
Carrd Pro Standard $29.46 $19 $29.46 ($19 + $10.46)
WordPress.com Personal $48 $60 $60 + domain renewal (price not stated)
Strikingly Limited $96 $96 $120.95 ($96 + $24.95)
Framer Basic $120 $120 $120 + domain renewal (not stated)
Weebly Personal $166.46 $156 $166.46 ($156 + $10.46)
Webflow Basic $190.46 $180 $190.46 ($180 + $10.46)
Strikingly Pro $192 $192 $216.95 ($192 + $24.95)
Wix Light $204 $204 $204 + domain renewal (not stated)
Squarespace Basic $228 $228 $248 ($228 + $20)
Durable Launch $264 $264 $264 + domain renewal (not stated)

For Strikingly, this assumes the domain renews at the $24.95 a year Strikingly lists for domains; its pricing page doesn’t give a separate renewal price. For Carrd, Weebly and Webflow, it assumes you keep the domain at Cloudflare.

Worked example: a portfolio site over three years

A freelance designer wants a portfolio on their own .com for three years and pays yearly. Where a builder doesn’t publish its domain renewal price, we use Cloudflare’s $10.46 as the low end; the builder may charge more.

  • Carrd Pro Standard (one page): plan 3 × $19 = $57; domain 3 × $10.46 = $31.38. Total: $88.38.
  • WordPress.com Personal, 3-year plan: 36 × $2.75 = $99 upfront, domain free in year one; domain in years 2 and 3: 2 × $10.46 = $20.92. Total: $119.92.
  • WordPress.com Personal, yearly: $48 + (2 × $60) = $168; domain $20.92. Total: $188.92.
  • Strikingly Limited: 3 × $96 = $288; domain 2 × $24.95 = $49.90. Total: $337.90, with Strikingly branding.
  • Framer Basic: 3 × $120 = $360; domain $20.92. Total: $380.92.
  • Webflow Basic: 3 × $180 = $540; domain 3 × $10.46 = $31.38. Total: $571.38.

The spread is $571.38 − $88.38 = $483 for the same three years. Carrd wins only if one page is enough. For a multi-page portfolio, WordPress.com’s 3-year plan is the cheapest here. WordPress.com also sells Personal at $3.25 a month on a 2-year plan (24 × $3.25 = $78 upfront).

What to watch for

  • The $9 Carrd plan has no custom domain. Pro Lite removes the branding, but you need Pro Standard ($19 a year) for your own domain.
  • Free domains last a year. Put the renewal date in your calendar and compare the builder’s renewal price with a registrar’s. Wix’s voucher must be used within 60 days of purchase.
  • Monthly billing costs more at every builder in the monthly table, from $36 to $120 a year, and loses the free domain at WordPress.com and Squarespace.
  • Long prepays behind the lowest prices. Hostinger’s advertised price needs 48 months upfront, and WordPress.com’s $2.75 needs three years.
  • Tight limits on the cheapest plans. Strikingly Limited allows 5 pages per site and sells a single product, with a 5% transaction fee. Webflow Basic has no CMS, Framer Basic stops at 30 pages, and Carrd is one page per site.
  • Taxes. Webflow’s prices are “plus applicable taxes added at checkout”, Framer adds sales tax based on your location, and Wix says its prices don’t include taxes.
  • Moving the domain out. Durable says transferring your domain to you “takes a couple of weeks” and has a minimum subscription time, which its page leaves blank.
  • No way back to monthly at Strikingly. Strikingly lets you move from monthly to yearly, but “you may not downgrade from yearly to monthly.”

Which to choose

  • One page (portfolio, launch page, link-in-bio): Carrd Pro Standard, $19 a year plus a domain. See our Carrd page.
  • A blog or small business site that may grow: WordPress.com Personal, $48 the first year and $60 after, or $99 for three years upfront. Personal can install plugins, which the free plan can’t.
  • A short site with a free domain, branding is fine: Strikingly Limited at $96 a year, or Pro at $192 to remove the branding. See our Strikingly page.
  • A design-led site with a small CMS: Framer Basic, $120 a year with a complimentary domain on yearly billing.
  • Full layout control, no blog: Webflow Basic, $180 a year plus a domain.
  • An easy drag-and-drop editor: Wix Light ($204 a year) or Squarespace Basic ($228). Squarespace Basic can already sell, with a 2% transaction fee; on Wix, payments start on Core at $29 a month billed yearly. Compare both with cheaper builders in our Wix and Squarespace alternatives.
  • Site, domain and email in one bill for four years: Hostinger Website Builder. Check its current price on our Hostinger page and plan for $10.99 a month after the term.

For a full first-year budget, including email and payments, see how much it costs to build a website. More builders are on our website builders page.

Sources